Today's Posts
Calendar
FAQ
Korea Links
Weather
Train Schedule
Korea Travel
Climbs by Province
Jeju-Do Jeollanam-Do Jeollabuk-Do Gyeongseongnam-Do Gyeongsangbuk-Do Chungcheongbuk-Do Chungcheongnam-Do Gyeonggi-Do Gangwon-Do Province
User Name Password
Calendar | Register | Lost Password?

Go Back   KOTR Forums > Climbing > Climbing Chat

Unread 09-26-2005, 01:29 PM
Aggressive Sheep

I'm pretty new to sport climbing and have only done it while here in Korea. my assumptions about bolts were shaken up a bit yesterday (at halmei bawi) and I'd like to hear some opinions/experiences from anyone (about bolts or user error).

-if a bolt is meant to stop a fall, shouldn't you be able to lower from it?
-is a 2" (5cm) bolt the standard length?
-are anchor bolts any longer?

-We had a couple beginners with us that wanted to try climbing and didn't want to go high so they didn't try to finish the route and clip the anchor. It was low and easy enough where there were no falls or hanging, just lowering.
-The second climber (3rd lowering) was being lowered when a commotion broke out about how the second to last draw was not in as a backup. There was a delay b/c of the language barrier and he just decided to lower anyway to get off the wall.
-At that moment the rock the bolt was in popped off the wall, he fell a little over 15' (5m), and landed on his feet then butt. The rock and/or the bolt hit the belayer in the head but he is fine. The climber has two compressed vertebrae, feels ok, but his prognosis is unknown.
_________

-I know toproping off one bolt is wrong and at least there should have been a draw on the next bolt, but I've seen climbers bailing or hanging midroute many times.
-Someone should have climbed to the anchor or bailed on the route altogether.
-Note: I couldn't pay attention to the lead up to the accident and the commotion since I was in the middle of belaying someone.
Unread 09-26-2005, 04:48 PM
☆★☆★☆★☆★