Today's Posts
Calendar
FAQ
Korea Links
Weather
Train Schedule
Korea Travel
Climbs by Province
Jeju-Do Jeollanam-Do Jeollabuk-Do Gyeongseongnam-Do Gyeongsangbuk-Do Chungcheongbuk-Do Chungcheongnam-Do Gyeonggi-Do Gangwon-Do Province
User Name Password
Calendar | Register | Lost Password?

Go Back   KOTR Forums > Community > General Chat

Unread 09-24-2008, 05:30 AM
Seorak Sender

Where do I start?!?!

I'm thinking of teaching english in korea and was wondering where the best place to be situated was if I was a mad keen climber, trad mainly but ill climb anything? Just wondering where to consider looking. Also I have a degree, but no esl/tefl etc and no experience really (taught kids but not english), can anyone give any tips or hints where to start out?! I'm pretty keen on coming over the climbing scene looks pretty good and basically thats good enough for me, everything else will just fit in somewhere, I'm just interested in other peoples experiences starting out. Im 28 and from the UK by the way.
Cheers!
Unread 09-24-2008, 10:10 AM
peace

There are lots of jobs on Dave's ESL Cafe. . . the climbing is all over Korea-- the best trad at Seoraksan, but some right in Seoul (Seoinbong, Insubong) and Busan (Buchae). Trad "ridges" at Daedunsan, Wolchulsan. . . climbing everywhere (click the map on the left). . . most important will be your job. . . the hours and vacations. These days a lot of folks are working for public schools and are happy with that. You tend to get a couple weeks to a couple months vacation and teach about 20 hours a week (though sometimes you have to be there more-- that's time to surf the computer and plan) with evenings off to train/hit the gym. Play up that you've taught kids. many, if not most, people come here with little education background or experience.
Unread 09-24-2008, 11:14 AM
verticalcult