Today's Posts
Calendar
FAQ
Korea Links
Weather
Train Schedule
Korea Travel
Climbs by Province
Jeju-Do Jeollanam-Do Jeollabuk-Do Gyeongseongnam-Do Gyeongsangbuk-Do Chungcheongbuk-Do Chungcheongnam-Do Gyeonggi-Do Gangwon-Do Province
User Name Password
Calendar | Register | Lost Password?

Go Back   KOTR Forums > Climbing > Climbing Chat

Unread 02-04-2009, 08:35 PM
Seorak Sender

best place to live for climbing in s korea

hey everyone,

so it seems there is a pretty good sized climbing community in s. korea and lots of rock. i'm thinking of moving there in a bit to teach some english and hopefully climb a bunch. where would be the ideal place to live in order to do both? i climb trad, sport, and boulder. oh, and anyone got the "ins" on a good job teaching? i've got plenty of experience and education.

Thanks!
tom
Unread 02-05-2009, 02:00 PM
Point Dume

I would think Seoul. Anywhere in the country is at most 2-3 hrs away by bus/train. Also, there are a bunch of nice ridge routes on Bukhansan and Donbongsan, as well as Insubong. Also, lots of job choices.
Unread 02-05-2009, 02:14 PM
verticalcult

If you have plenty of experience, try applying to the universities and colleges. They usually have the best deals for climbers lifestyles. You usually need a few years teaching experience, a TESOL/TEFOL cert and a Masters (in anything) really helps too, but a Bachelors in a "realted" field is often enough with some experience. I guess Seoul is the best place in some ways, but Busan is also a great city for climbers and a lot cleaner and less frantic. In fact any major city is usually pretty good (Daegu, Gwangju, Incheon, Jeonju etc). Try looking at Daves ESL cafe, or Top Gun Recruiting Korea (though that is mostly for Daejeon area jobs), or look in Seoul Global Centre. http://global.seoul.go.kr/global/vie...ng/working.jsp