Today's Posts
Calendar
FAQ
Korea Links
Weather
Train Schedule
Korea Travel
Climbs by Province
Jeju-Do Jeollanam-Do Jeollabuk-Do Gyeongseongnam-Do Gyeongsangbuk-Do Chungcheongbuk-Do Chungcheongnam-Do Gyeonggi-Do Gangwon-Do Province
User Name Password
Calendar | Register | Lost Password?

Go Back   KOTR Forums > Gear > Gear Review

Unread 01-08-2008, 02:59 PM
verticalcult

Brain buckets (Helmets)

So just wondering what everyone thinks on whichever helmet they have/ have used in the past. It's time to buy KA a helmet soon and there are a few others who might find the topic holds some currency.
Personally I have been using a Camp Starlight for the past 6 years, and found it to be light, pretty comfy and unobstructive. It's a mid-hard shell with pad inserts that has a a dial adjust at back and a few typical strap lengtheners near the chin buckle.
Overall I'm really happy, but it has a few downsides.

1-You can't sit on it, nor use it as a snow shovel like true HARD shell helmets.
2-The chin buckle has popped undone a few times.
3-The chins strap is a bit scratchy, after I lost the soft velvet wrap guard.
4-Affixing headlamps is easy, but not as secure as I'd like.
5-No visor attachment (nor inbuilt) for sun/ ice-chip protection.

I've seen a few helmets out there that incorporate a built in headlamp space and visor attachments. Namely Grivel and Simmonds I think. Anyone wanna share any beta or opinions on their brain bucket?
Unread 01-09-2008, 03:46 PM
Working it out

Hey Jake,

I have a Black Diamond helmet. It's really lightweight and has great ventilation, but aesthetically, I kinda think it looks like a bike helmet. I actually wish I would have bought the popular Petzl...the Elios, I think it is. Can't wait to see you and KA this season!

nic
Unread 01-09-2008, 05:20 PM
Steadily growing stronger...

Jake,