PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Recipes

Karen
10-01-2006, 05:35 PM
I would really like to get some simple recipes -any culinary tradition- that are based on ingredients I can actually find here. All my recipe books involve too much time. I'm a horrible cook and rarely use our oven (yes, an oven!) but I did make one thing that turned out well. No oven needed.

APPLE BANANA SAUCE

Ingredients:
-4 or 5 apples, peeled, cored and chopped
-some bananas (oh, peel them too)

Optional Embellishments:
-raisins, ginger, nutmeg, cinnamin, honey

Procedure:
Put the apples in a pot with a couple tablespoons of water. Boil til soft then mash. Add the bananas and spices, etc. Serve warm. Very delicious.

Yeah, when I said simple, I meant simple. I could get slightly more complex than this. Please help.

shanja
10-02-2006, 09:37 AM
OK Karen seeing as how you loosened my tonhue with all that makoli last niht here's the recipe. It's from an Aussie Hare Krishna TV Chef called Kurma Dhasa, and though that sounds like a strange beginning he's quite a good sort, and his recipes work.
GOPALS FAMOUS VEGIE-NUT BURGERS
1 cup cooked sticky rice
1.5 bcups cooked brown lentils
0.5 cups shredded carrot
1.5 cups breadcrumbs
0.5 cups chunky peanut butter
2Tablespoons Soy sauce
1 Tablespoon seseme oil
2 teaspoons each dried basil and oregano (or whatever herbs you have)
0.5 cups fresh chopped parsley (I use a Korean plant called 참나물 similar)
1teaspoon salt
1teaspoon paprika (I use regular Korean Chilli powder)

Combine everything in big bowl, and knead well. If you aren't vegetarian you could add an egg or two to help bond the mix, as it can crumble a bit in cooking.
Make into small patties and either pan fry gently, or bake in an oven at 200C (400F) until darkish brown and a bit dry (8-10mins).
serve on hamburger rolls with lettuce, tomato etc

Karen
10-02-2006, 10:02 AM