PDA

View Full Version : Living in Korea 101


curious_j
12-14-2005, 10:44 PM
Skinsk had a good idea with the Climbing 101 thread for new climbers. Extending that concept... Let's help out people who are new to the ROK.

What do newcomers need to know? Where can they get the info? Write about anything--culture, transportation (good thread alreadying going on that one I guess), food stuffs, shopping, language, books...

To start, here are some websites that may be helpful. I know there are a ton more to be shared.

Click Korea (http://www.clickkorea.org/) focuses on Events, News, Essays and Food.
Korea Net (http://www.korea.net/)claims to be a gateway to Korea.
Tour2Korea (http://english.tour2korea.com/index.asp) covers info for touring in Korea. Good stuff for expats too.

Visit Seoul (http://www.visitseoul.net/english_new/index.htm)is mostly about, you guessed it, Seoul.
Seoul Selection (http://www.seoulselection.com/index.html)is a bookstore for foreigners in Seoul. Their website is aimed at shoppers and shopping, the buying of goods and services. Plus some useful info on life in Seoul.

Korea Herald (http://www.koreaherald.co.kr/)is a newspaper. You can read it. The Weekender (http://www.koreaherald.co.kr/Weekender/)is popular.
The Korea Times (http://www.koreatimes.co.kr/)is also a newspaper. Some people read it.

Let's Learn Korean (http://rki.kbs.co.kr/learn_korean/lessons/e_index.htm#)is sponsored by KBS. I think all the lessons are free.
Korean Studies at Sogang (http://korean.sogang.ac.kr/)also offers free online Korean lessons.

And when you've had enough of the peninsula, you can escape with Dave (http://www.davebarry.com/)to Miami (http://www.miami.com/mld/miamiherald/living/columnists/dave_barry/).

Welcome to Korea. You'll be glad you came. May KOTR be your home away from home. I mean, unless you do actually have a life. And that's cool too.

-Jeff

curious_j
06-07-2007, 05:58 AM
I recently repackaged this info and added more for a friend who is getting ready to head to Korea. Maybe this will be helpful for some. Blog Link (http://packlight.blogspot.com/2007/06/south-korea.html)